First Commonwealth Games

Ist Commonwealth Games - Canada

The first Commonwealth Games, held in the year 1930 in Hamilton, Canada, had 11 countries with 400 athletes participating in 6 sports comprising 59 events. Since then the Commonwealth Games have been held every four years except 1942 and 1946 because of the World War II.

Name attained - Commonwealth Games

Initially, the commonwealth Games was known by many different names. From year 1930 to 1950 it was known as British Empire Games. After that it was known as British Empire and Commonwealth Games till the year 1962. Henceforth, till 1974 it was known as British Commonwealth Games. In 1978, it finally attained the name of Commonwealth Games.

History of the Games

The history of The Games shows that it has undergone several significant changes through the years. The 1988 Games that was held in Kuala Lumpur saw the introduction of team sports like hockey, cricket, netball and rugby. Basketball secured a place in the 2006 games held in Melbourne. The 2002 Games held in Manchester also saw a limited number of full-medal events for elite athletes with disability.

Introduction of Commonwealth Youth Games

In the year 2000, the Commonwealth Games Federation introduced the Commonwealth Youth Games for sportsmen and women below 18 years of age and thereby provided an excellent platform for young aspiring athletes. Currently, 53 members of the Commonwealth of Nations and 71 teams participate in the Games. Only six teams so far have attended each and every Commonwealth Games and these include Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Scotland, England and Wales.


Disclaimer: We are not officially associated with any Commonwealth or Olympics Games Event. Neither we are affiliated with any of the promoter of the games, athletes or venues.