Saturday, September 25, 2010

Indian States

India is a secular, socialist, sovereign, democratic republic. People from many religions can be found here. India got its independence on 15th August, 1947 and a constitution adopted by India came into force on 26th January, 1950. There are 28 states and 7 Union territories in India that make it a union of states. Three new states of Chattisgarh, Uttaranchal and Jharkhand was carved out of Madhya Pradesh , Uttar Pradesh and Bihar respectively in the year 2000. All the Indian states and Union territories have a unique culture and history of their own.

The following are the list of 28 states of India in alphabetical order:

  • Andhra Pradesh

  • Arunachal Pradesh

  • Assam

  • Bihar

  • Chhattisgarh

  • Goa

  • Gujarat

  • Haryana

  • Himachal Pradesh

  • Jammu and Kashmir

  • Jharkhand

  • Karnataka

  • Kerala

  • Madhya Pradesh

  • Maharashtra

  • Manipur

  • Meghalaya

  • Mizoram

  • Nagaland

  • Orissa

  • Punjab

  • Rajasthan

  • Sikkim

  • Tamil Nadu

  • Tripura

  • Uttar Pradesh

  • Uttarakhand

  • West Bengal

No comments:

Post a Comment