Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Pranab Mukherjee is the 13th President of India

Pranab Mukherjee is being sworn in as the thirteenth President of Indian Constituency amidst great fan fare as the whole nation watches. He first paid respect to Mahatma Gandhi at Rajghat and then Rajiv Gandhi at Veer Bhumi before he proceeded to the Central Hall of Parliament to take his Presidential Oath. Pranab Mukherjee had defeated tribal leader PA Sangma securing 69% votes in the President poll. The swearing-in function will start off on the arrival of Pratibha Patil and Pranab in a ceremonial procession from the Rashtrapati Bhawan to the Parliament building. They would be received by Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Union Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers and a host of other dignitaries.

A very strong security cover has been provided over the capital for the ceremony. To secure the skies, even the airspace might be closed during the ceremony. Commuter services of the three Delhi Metro stations of Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan and Khan Market will also be suspended for a couple of hours as a measure of security restriction.

He is an elected member of Lok Sabha elected from the Jangipur Constituency of West Bengal and belongs to the Indian National Congress Party. Pranab Mukherjee’s present address is 13, Talkatora Road, New Delhi. Pranab Mukherjee’s profile reveals that he has been rated as one of the best five Finance Ministers of the world for the year 1984 and was also conferred with  Best Parliamentarian Award in 1997. He has been in news time and again for his strong leadership in the Ministry of Finance and other Economic Ministries and he is acclaimed nationally and internationally. Pranab Mukherjee’s family comprises his wife Smt. Suvra Mukherjee and his two sons and one daughter.

No comments:

Post a Comment