Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award Winners 2018-2019 : Complete List

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award Winners 2018-2019

The Sangeet Natak Akademi has released its list of awardees for the year 2018-19. Sangeet Natak Akademi awards (संगीत नाटक अकादमी अवार्ड 2018) or fellow in the field of performing arts has been given to four popular figures of the Country - tabla ustad Zakir Hussain, dancer Sonal Mansingh, dancer and choreographer Jatin Goswami and Bharatnatyam exponent K. Kalyanasundaram Pillai.

The Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship is a rare honour and most prestigious and that too restricted to 40 numbers at any given time. The names of Sangeet Natak Akademi awards winners was decided in a meeting held on June 26, at Guwahati, Assam.

44 artistes (which also includes three joint awards)were selected from music, dance, theatre, traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/theatre, puppetry and overall contribution/scholarship in the performing arts for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for the year 2018. The official website of Sangeet Natak Akademi is this:

11 eminent artistes were selected in the field of music and there names are as follows: 
Mani Prasad - Hindustani Vocal;
Madhup Mudgal - Hindustani Vocal;
Tarun Bhattacharya - Hindustani Instrumental - Santoor;
Tejendra Narayan Majumdar - Hindustani Instrumental - Sarod;
Alamelu Mani -ACarnatic Vocal;
Malladi Suribabu - Carnatic Vocal;
S. Kasim and S. Babu (Joint Award) - Carnatic Instrumental - Nagaswaram;
Ganesh and Kumaresh (Joint Award) - Carnatic Instrumental - Violin;
Suresh Wadkar - Other Major Traditions of Music - Sugam Sangeet;
Shanti Hiranand - other major traditions of music - Sugam Sangeet;
H. Ashangbi Devi - other major traditions of music - Nata Sankirtana, Manipur.

9 eminent artistes have been selected in the field of dance: 
Radha Sridhar for Bharatanatyam;
Ishira and Maulik Shah (Joint Award) for Kathak;
Akham Lakshmi Devi for Manipuri;
4 Pasumurthy Ramalinga Sastry for Kuchipudi;
Surupa Sen for Odissi;
Tankeswar Hazarika Borbayan for Sattriya;
Gopika Varma for Mohiniattam;
Tapan Kumar Pattanayak for Chhau;
Deepak Mazumdar for Contemporary Dance.

9 eminent artists have been selected in the field of theatre:
Rajiv Naik for Playwriting;
Laltluangliana Khiangte for Playwriting;
SanjayAUpadhyay for Direction;
S. Raghunandana for Direction;
Suhas Joshi for Acting;
Teekam Joshi for Acting;
Swapan Nandy for Mime;
Bhagawat A.S. Nanjappa - other major traditions of theatre - Yakshagana;
A.M. Parameswaran Kuttan Chakkiyar - other major traditions of theatre - Kutiyattam.

10 artistes have been selected in the field of traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/theatre and puppetry :
Malini Awasthi, Folk Music, Uttar Pradesh;
Gazi Khan Barna, Folk Music - Khartal, Rajasthan;
Narendar Singh Negi, Folk Song, Uttarakhand;
Mohd. Sadiq Bhagat, Folk Theatre (Bhand Pather), J&K;
Kota Sachidanand Shastry, Harikatha, Andhra Pradesh;
Arjun Singh Dhruve, Folk Dance, Madhya Pradesh;
Somnath Battu, Folk Music, Himachal Pradesh;
Anupama Hoskere, Puppetry (String), Karnataka;
Hem Chandra Goswami, Mask Making, Assam.

2 artists have been selected in the field of Overall Contribution/Scholarship in the Performing Arts:
Diwan Singh Bajeli and Puru Dadhich

The Akademi Awards, not only symbolize the highest standard of excellence and achievements, but also appreciates and recognize sustained individual work and contribution since 1952. The Akademi Fellow honour gets a prize of Rs 3 lakh and the Akademi Award winner gets Rs 1 lakh, along with a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.Sangeet Natak Akademi awards will be conferred by the President of India at a special ceremony.

No comments:

Post a Comment